Advertisement

List of Foods That Contain Wheat & Gluten

If you have celiac disease, a gluten intolerance or a wheat allergy, you need to avoid a wide variety of foods that contain gluten or foods that may be contaminated with gluten. While it can be challenging to remain on a gluten-free diet, it will get easier with time and knowledge. Use this list of foods with wheat or gluten to avoid problem foods and help you to make smart food choices.

Cooking your own food is the best way to avoid gluten and wheat, but you will need to avoid or replace some ingredients. Whole wheat, pumpernickel, rye, semolina and white flours all contain wheat or gluten. Most pasta, including egg noodles, are made with wheat flour. Bulgur, barley and couscous all contain wheat and wheat gluten. Oats, unless specifically labeled gluten-free, should be avoided due to contamination. Bran and breadcrumbs are also wheat based. Bouillon cubes, self basting meats and deli meats should be checked carefully for possible gluten, according to Celiac.com.

Choose prepared foods labeled gluten-free or check the manufacturer's website if you are unsure. Keep in mind that many prepared foods, such as soups, may contain traces of gluten. Pre-shredded cheese, frozen french fries, teriyaki sauce, salad dressings and soy sauce may all contain wheat or gluten, according to the Food Allergy Gourmet. Yogurt, sour cream, dips and even canned vegetables, including baked beans and tomatoes, are other possible culprits. Chips and cereals may contain gluten or may be gluten free.

Choose foods labeled wheat- or gluten-free to avoid potential food additives. Food colorings, preservatives and starches can all contain wheat or gluten. Avoid artificial coloring, caramel coloring and caramel flavoring, recommends Celiac.com. Read labels for hydrolyzed vegetable protein, food starch, maltose, vegetable starch or seasonings. Less processed foods typically have fewer additives and may be a better choice when you need to stick to a wheat- or gluten-free diet. These terms can all indicate a wheat based product. If you have questions about a specific product, many manufacturers can provide information via a toll-free number.

Photo Credits:

This article reflects the views of the writer and does not necessarily reflect the views of Jillian Michaels or JillianMichaels.com.